The Abode of Anamnesis

Opening: 2019.03.08

Duration: 2019.03.08 – 2019.06.09

Curator: He Yining

Artists: Chen Min, Dong Yuxiang, Li Lang, Shi Zhen, Kurt Tong, Yang Yuanyuan, Zhu Lanqing


Symposium

The Research, Writing and Practice of Postmodern Visual Narrative

10:00-16:30

【The specific agenda of symposim is shown below.】


Opening Ceremony & Guided Tour with the Curator

17:00-18:00


Address: OCAT Institute, Beijing


The symposium is a free event. Please register with us by sending “0308+name+email” to the OCAT Institute WeChat platform. Reservation is successful upon completion.  



OCAT Institute is pleased to announce the opening of the exhibition “The Abode of Anamnesis” on March 8, 2019 at 5:00 pm. “The Abode of Anamnesis” is the realization of “Picturing Histories: Historical Narratives in Contemporary Chinese Photography”, the winning proposal of OCAT’s inaugural Research-based Curatorial Project. After 3 months of planning and development, it will be open to the public for the first time this March. 


As a writer and curator, He Yining has always been interested in the way in which photography is able to freely straddle the boundaries of contemporary art, responding to and raising questions about contemporary and historical social issues through effective, diverse, and interdisciplinary means; narrative theories in photography have also been a focus of her research in recent years. As part of her research project, the current exhibition will revolve around practices based on contemporary photographic narratives; in addition to shedding light on the development and characteristics of the photographic medium in the context of postmodern visual narratives and pointing out the similarities and differences between the narrative functions of photography and other media, the exhibition will also explore the complex relationship between history, memory, archive and photographic narratives. 


In recent years, photographers around the globe have begun to break the conventional linear sequence in the construction of photographic texts, opting for a new wave that allows multiple narrative strategies of the real or the fictional. They fuse documents, historical photos, texts, and carefully-constructed images, taking viewers to times and places in the past, to boundaries that can or cannot be told.  This kind of practice not only reflects the artists’ interest and urgent desire to delve into history, but also reveals the space that has been opened for photographic practices by the richness of social and cultural environments in history.  


“The Abode of Anamnesis” focuses on several cases in Chinese contemporary art that enter historical narratives through photography. The exhibition seeks to analyze the context in which the current trend occurs, to examine the creative strategies adopted by different artists and to explore the unique viewpoint photography offers in the construction of historical narratives from different angles. By means of exploring histories of individuals and families, historical events, discussing varied historical episodes, or even reflecting on the theme of photography as a medium of historical narratives, the artists in this exhibition think of themselves as archaeologists and approach their subjects from various perspectives. While revisiting, rewriting, and reconstructing history, they have also been searching for more specific cultures. 


During the exhibition, a variety of forums, workshops, talks and other events will be held in the spirit of promoting cross-media and cross-disciplinary research on theories of visual narratives. An exhibition catalogue containing the contents of the aforementioned events will be published by the end of the exhibition. 




Symposium Agenda


2019.03.08

The Research, Writing and Practice of Postmodern Visual Narrative

Time:10:00-16:30

Venue: Auditorium, 1st Floor, OCAT Institute


The symposium for the exhibition will take place at the OCAT Institute on the opening day of the exhibition. Centered around the theme “The Research, Writing and Practice of Postmodern Visual Narrative”, the symposium consists of two different panels: “Narrative Turn in Contemporary Art: Theory and Practice” and “Vision of Contemporary Photographic Narrative”. Researchers from various disciplines in China and abroad are invited to talk about different issues related to the research, writing and practice of visual narratives in the global art industry, with the aim of promoting cross-media and cross-disciplinary research on theories of visual narratives.


Panel I: 10:00-12:20 


Narrative Turn in Contemporary Art: Theory and Practice  


From the 1990s to date, researches on postmodern narratives have been flourishing in fields such as literature, film and video art for nearly 30 years. Theories born in different areas of study, including semiotics, art history and iconology, are widely used in the research and writing of visual narratives and have deepened the dialogue between different cultures and disciplines. At the same time, artists are constantly redefining the boundaries of visual narratives through the use of new media, ingenious constructions of their work and creative ways of presentation. “Narrative Turn in Contemporary Art: Theory and Practice” focuses on the research and practice of narratives in contemporary art in China and the West. The panel will explore different media such as film, video and photography as well as their connection to traditional literary narratives and the mutual construction between the two. 


10:00-11:30 Guest Talks

 

Moderator:Wang Huan (Writer, Curator, Winner of the Fifth International Awards for Art Criticism)


Speakers:

Long Diyong (Professor, Department of Art Theory, School of Art, Southeast University)  

     

Lu Mingjun (Associate Professor, Department of  Art Studies, Sichuan University)


Yang Beichen (Researcher of Contemporary Art and Film, Lecturer of Drama Literature Department, Central Academy of Drama )


Zhu Xinwei (Lecturer, School of Foreign Languages, Beijing Forestry University) 

 

11:30-11:45 Coffee Break

 

11:45-12:20 Panel Discussion

 

Guests: Wang Huan, Long Diyong, Lu Mingjun, Yang Beichen, Zhu Xinwei, Yang Yuanyuan, Chen Min, Dong Yuxiang, He Yining



Panel II:  14:00-16:30


Vision of Contemporary Photographic Narrative 


Communicating meanings through elaborately constructed images and incorporating photos into macro- or micro-narratives by freeing them from their representational functions and reordering them are both strategies used by creators of contemporary photographic narratives in their attempt to break from traditional narratives. Due to the richness of the photographic language and its complicated relationship with other narrative media, “Vision of Contemporary Photographic Narrative” will focus on a series of questions closely related to contemporary photographic narratives: Can we use postmodern theories on narrative in the formulation of a set of analytic strategies for image narratives? Why should we construct narratives through photography when video art has been fully developed? What do photographic narratives have in common with literary and cinematic narratives and what are the differences? Does the popularity of photobooks worldwide play an important role in the current trend of photographic narratives? 


14:00-15:00 Guest Talks


Moderator: He Yining (Researcher, Curator) 


Speakers: 

Greg Battye (Adjunct Professor, Faculty of Arts and Design, University of Canberra)


José Luís Neves (Belfast School of Art, University of Ulster)


Shi Zhen (Artist, Independent Publisher)


He Bo (Artist, Editor of Chinese Photography Magazine)


15:30-15:50 Coffee Break 


15:50-16:30 Panel Discussion 


Guests: Greg Battye, José Luís Neves, Shi Zhen, He Bo, Li Lang, Zhu Lanqing, He Yining






姓名

立即订阅

记忆寓所

开幕:2019.03.08

展期:2019.03.08 – 2019.06.09

策展人:何伊宁

参展艺术家:陈旻、董宇翔、黎朗、石真、唐景锋、杨圆圆、朱岚清


研讨会

后现代视觉叙事的研究、书写与实践

10:00-16:30

【研讨会议程详见下文】


展览开幕及策展人导览

17:00-18:00



活动免费,研讨会预约方式:请发送“0308+姓名+邮箱”至OCAT研究中心微信公众号,发送即预约成功。



OCAT研究中心荣幸地宣布,展览“记忆寓所”将于2019年3月8日下午5点开幕。“记忆寓所”即OCAT研究中心发起的首届“研究型展览策展计划”的优胜方案“描绘历史:中国当代摄影中的历史叙事”的汇报展览,经过历时近3个月的深化,正式呈现于公众面前。

 

作为摄影史学者,策展人何伊宁一直关注摄影作为一种出入于艺术自由的实践,在回应和提出与历史及当下相关的社会议题时的有效性、多样性和跨学科性,摄影叙述理论亦是其近期主要的研究议题。本次展览作为其研究计划的一部分将围绕着当代摄影叙事的实践展开,关注摄影媒介在后现代视觉叙事语境内的发展和特征,以及其与其他媒介在叙事功能上的异同;同时指向历史、记忆、档案与摄影叙事之间的复杂关系。

 

在近些年来全球摄影的叙事浪潮中,摄影实践者们开始利用照片对历史中的个人故事、事件或片段进行探究,时常将档案、历史照片、文字和精心建构的图像与物件融合起来,运用真实或虚构的叙事策略将观者的视角带向过去的某时某地,以及那些能说不能说的边缘,既体现出艺术家对历史考察的兴趣和急迫性,同时也体现出历史中丰富的社会、文化环境对于摄影实践所开放的空间。

 

展览“记忆寓所”聚焦中国当代摄影中主要运用摄影进入历史叙事的若干案例,试图通过对产生这种潮流的原因进行语境分析,考察诸位实践者所运用的不同策略,并从不同角度来探索摄影在历史叙事中所提供的独特视角。从探索个人和家庭历史,到探究历史事件,再到讨论历史中的片段,甚至是反思照片作为历史叙事媒介的主题,参展艺术家将自己视为考古学家,纷纷从不同叙事角度切入,在回顾、改写和重构历史的同时,延伸出他们对更具体、广泛文化的追溯。


展览期间还将举办研讨会、工作坊、讲座等相关活动来推进跨媒介、跨学科之间的视觉叙事理论研究。展览的同名出版物将收录上述活动的成果,于展览结束同期出版。



研讨会议程


2019.03.08

后现代视觉叙事的研究、书写与实践

时间:10:00-16:30

地点:OCAT研究中心展厅一层报告厅


开幕当天,将以“后现代视觉叙事的研究、书写与实践”为主题举办本次展览的第一期研讨会,分为“当代艺术中的叙述转向:理论与实践”和“当代摄影叙事的视野”两场进行。研讨会将邀请相关领域的国内外学者围绕着全球艺术领域中针对视觉叙事的研究、书写与实践展开讨论,旨在增进跨媒介、跨学科之间的视觉叙事理论的研究。


上半场: 10:00-12:20


当代艺术中的叙事转向:理论与实践


自20世纪90年代至今,后现代叙事研究在文学、电影、录像等领域内已历经30年的蓬勃发展,包括符号学、艺术史、图像学在内的一系列理论被广泛运用在视觉叙事的研究和写作当中,加深了跨文化、跨学科对话;与此同时,艺术家们不断通过新媒介的运用,作品结构的架设和全新的展示方式来打破叙事的边界。“当代艺术中的叙事转向:理论与实践”关注中西方当代艺术中叙事方法的研究和实践,涉及电影、录像、摄影,以及这些媒介与传统文学叙事的相互塑造。


10:00-11:30 主题发言


主持人:王欢(写作者、策展人,第五届国际艺术评论奖得主)


发言嘉宾:

龙迪勇(东南大学艺术学院艺术理论系教授)

鲁明军(四川大学艺术学院美术学系副教授)

杨北辰(当代艺术与电影研究者,中央戏剧学院戏剧文学系讲师)

朱欣慰(北京林业大学外语学院讲师)


11:30-11:45 茶歇


11:45-12:20 圆桌讨论

参与嘉宾:王欢、龙迪勇、鲁明军、杨北辰、朱欣慰、杨圆圆、陈旻、董宇翔、何伊宁


下半场:14:00-16:30

当代摄影叙事的视野


通过精心建构的单张图像来传递意义,或将照片从它的表征意义中解放出来,通过序列将其纳入更宏大的叙事或微叙事之中,是当代摄影叙事实践者所力求突破传统叙事的策略之一二。鉴于摄影语言的丰富性以及它与其他叙事媒介之间的复杂关系,“当代摄影叙事的视野”将聚焦于一系列与当代摄影叙事紧密相关的问题,包括我们能否利用西方后现代叙事理论来生成一套针对图像叙事的分析策略?在录像艺术逐渐成熟之后,为什么要用摄影来叙事?摄影叙事与文学及电影叙事的共同点和区别有哪些?全球领域内摄影书的流行对于当下的照片叙事潮流是否起到了重要的作用?


14:00-15:30  主题发言


主持人:何伊宁(学者、策展人)


发言嘉宾:

[澳]格雷格·巴蒂耶(堪培拉大学艺术与设计学院客座教授)

[葡]何塞·路易斯·内维斯(英国阿尔斯特大学艺术、设计与建筑环境学院讲师)

石真(艺术家、独立出版人)

何博(艺术家、《中国摄影》杂志编辑) 


15:30-15:50 茶歇


15:50-16:30 圆桌讨论

参与嘉宾:格雷格·巴蒂耶、何塞·路易斯·内维斯、石真、何博、黎朗、朱岚清、何伊宁



姓名

立即订阅