Metapictures : Images and the Discourse of Theory

Lecturer: W. J. T. Mitchell

 

Lecture 1: Iconology 3.0:  Image Theory in Our Time

14:00-17:00  September 6th 

Lecture 2: About Face

14:00-17:00  September 7th

Lecture 3: Sculpting Infinity   

14:00-17:00  September 8th  

 

Venue: The University of Chicago Center in Beijing, 20th floor, Culture Plaza, No. 59A Zhong Guan Cun Street, Haidian District, Beijing

Organizer: OCAT Institute

Co-organizer: The University of Chicago Center in Beijing

Support: Shenzhen Overseas Chinese Town Co., Ltd.

Inquiry: info@ocatinstitute.org.cn 

 

Registration: The events are free, please sign up via the official wechat account “ocatinstitute” by providing the date of event (0906/0907/0908)+name+Email+ workplace/school.

 

Abstracts of 2018 OCAT Institute Annual Lecture  


Lecture 1  Iconology 3.0:  Image Theory in Our Time

This lecture will be directly connected to the current OCAT Institute Exhibition, “Metapictures.” It will survey “pictures about pictures” that have served as central examples in theoretical reflection on images, media, and visual culture in the last half century. Topics addressed will include the relation of images to language, perception, and thought, the role of images as historical markers and political agents, and the effects of new technologies, especially in the sciences of life and information, on the circulation and effects of  images.  

 

Lecture 2  About Face

This lecture will explore the semiotics and phenomenology of the human face, taking up its role as the central and primal object of image cognition and recognition, its status as both a figure of sovereignty and abject vulnerability, and its curious ambiguity (in the English language) as both an object and an action. Topics addressed will include the effect of new technologies such as facial recognition software, the evolution of the face from the portrait to the selfie, the power of caricature, and the face as a metaphor for both honor and shame.

 

Lecture 3  Sculpting Infinity

This lecture explores the way that sculpture, the medium most deeply enmeshed in finitude and materiality, sometimes attempt to free itself from the limits of its medium to take on experiences of the infinite. Employing the Hegelian and Blakean distinction between the “false” and the “authentic” infinite as the difference between mere endlessness or extension and the concept of the “infinite particular,” the lecture will explore sculptor Antony Gormley’s notion of the mindful object, as exemplified in his recent work, Infinite Cube.



About W. J. T. Mitchell

W. J. T. Mitchell received his M.A. and Ph.D. from Johns Hopkins University. He taught in the English Department of Ohio State University from 1968-77 and has been teaching in the Department of English and Art History at the University of Chicago since 1977, now named as a Gaylord Donnelley Distinguished Service Professor. He has served as a Professor at the School of Criticism and Theory three times (Northwestern University, 1983; Dartmouth, 1990, Cornell University, 2016). In 2017, he was selected as a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

As scholar and theorist, Mitchell works particularly on the history and theories of media, visual art, and literature, from the eighteenth century to the present. His work explores the relations of visual and verbal representations in the culture and iconology (the study of images across the media). In his article The Pictorial Turn published in Artforum in 1992, Mitchell affirmed the significance of the “linguistic turn” that proposed by Richard Rorty, and prospectively suggested that a similar “pictorial turn” is needed. Mitchell may be considered as one of the earliest scholars in the Western academic circles who promoted the study of humanities from an image-oriented perspective. In later published Picture Theory (1994), he then expanded this concept in depth, and it was also in this book that Mitchell proposed his acclaimed “Metapicture” theory. Along with his Iconology: Image, Text, Ideology (1986) and What Do Pictures Want?The Lives and Loves of Images (2005), these three books collectively construct a theoretical framework of Mitchell's image theory and visual culture study. Mitchell's other publications covering various disciplines and topics such as literature, media aesthetics, popular culture, and visual images in socio-politics.

 

About OCAT Institute Annual Lecture Series

As an open initiative dedicated to research in art history, the OCAT Institute Annual Lecture Series intends to delineate the contour of contemporary thought, reexamine potential histories of contemporary art, and create a platform of exchange and dialogue between the academic community in China and abroad. As one of the essential components of OCAT Institute’s public educational programs, it promotes an approach to research that draws from a wide range of disciplines in the humanities.  


The general theme of the 2018 public project is art theory and visual culture research. In 2018, OCAT Institute invites Professor W. J. T. Mitchell (University of Chicago) as its 2018 Annual Lecturer. The Annual Lecture entitled “Metapicture: Images and the Discourse Theory”which is going to be held between September 6 and 8, 2018, at the University of Chicago Center in Beijing. Throughout the entire annual cycle, the subsequent W. J. T. Mitchell Seminar Series, which constitutes the central component of the program, unfolds in two installments. The first and second seminars“ Images and Words” and “ Media, Technology & Memory” took place in April and June this year respectively, the speakers were invited to our event who have backgrounds in various academic disciplines, including art theory, visual media, Chinese painting, English literature. The exhibition Metapictures will be initiated by the OCAT Institute, and open to the public on September 9th.


姓名

立即订阅

元图像:图像及理论话语

主讲人:W.J.T.米切尔 

 

第一讲   图像学3.0:当下的图像理论

2018年9月6日 14:00-17:00 

 

第二讲   关于面孔

2018年9月7日 14:00-17:00 

 

第三讲   雕塑无限 

2018年9月8日 14:00-17:00

 

地点:芝加哥大学北京中心北京海淀区中关村大街 59号文化大厦20层  

主办OCAT研究中心

协办:芝加哥大学北京中心

支持:深圳华侨城股份有限公司

讲座垂询info@ocatinstitute.org.cn

 

讲座免费,预约方法:请发送“场次(0906/0907/0908)+姓名+邮箱+工作/学习单位”至 OCAT 研究中心微信公众平台,以正式回复为接受预约,请不要重复申请。



2018 OCAT年度讲座内容概要

 

第一讲:图像学3.0:当下的图像理论

本场讲座和OCAT研究中心即将于近期开幕的“元图像”(Metapictures)展览直接相关。近五十年来,在对图像、媒介以及视觉文化进行的理论反思中,“关于图画的图画”一直是最主要的研究案例,而本场讲座将围绕它展开论述。其中涉及的话题包括:图像与语言、感知、思想的关联;图像作为历史纪念与政治中介的角色;新型技术(尤其是生命与信息科学)对图像传播及其效应的影响等。

 

第二讲:关于面孔

本场讲座将探寻人类面孔的符号学与现象学意涵。面孔在图像认知与识别中占据着最原初且最核心的地位,它象征着至高无上的统治力,又显现出某种可悲的脆弱性。在英文语境中“face” 一词既是名词也是动词,因而也具备了某种饶有趣味的含混性。本场讲座的主题将涉及:人脸识别系统等新科技的影响;从肖像到自拍的面孔演化;漫画像的威力;面孔作为荣誉与羞耻之隐喻等。

 

第三讲:无限

雕塑这一艺术媒介往往囿于其有限性及物质性,而本场讲座将探寻雕塑试图摆脱自身媒介之有限、进而体验无限的方式。黑格尔与布莱克曾对“假”无限与“真”无限加以区分,本场讲座将其应用于单纯的无穷/延展与“无限殊相”之间的差异中,并结合雕塑家安东尼·格姆雷(Antony Gormley)的近作《无限立方》(Infinite Cube),来考察其“冥想之物”的观念。




关于W.J.T.米切尔

W.J.T.米切尔1968年在约翰·霍普金斯大学获得英语文学博士学位,此后十年任教于俄亥俄州立大学英语系。自1977年起,米切尔教授在芝加哥大学英语语言文学系与艺术史系任教至今,被评为芝大盖罗德·多奈利杰出贡献讲座教授,曾次在汇集了欧美诸多一流批评理论家的“批评理论学院”讲学。2017年,米切尔教授入选美国文理学院,晋身为美国院士级学者。作为当代西方著名学者、艺术批评家和理论家,米切尔教授的研究领域为18世纪至今的文学、视觉艺术、媒介历史与理论,尤其致力于探索文化与图像学中视觉表征和语言再现之间的关系。1992年发表于《艺术论坛》的《图像转向》一文中,米切尔肯定了理查德·罗蒂所归纳的“语言学转向”的重要性,并前瞻性地指出,我们需要某种与其相类似的“图像转向”,可谓是英美学界最早提出应以图像导向的方式推进人文学科研究的学者之一。在随后出版的《图像理论》(1994) 一书中,米切尔对此予以了详细论述,也正是在这本专著中,米切尔阐释了著名的“元图像”(metapictures)理论。与1986年出版的专著《图像学:形象、文本、意识形态》和2005年出版的文集《图像何求?——形象的生命与爱》一起,它们共同构筑了米切尔图像理论与视觉文化研究的理论框架。除了这三本理论力作,米切尔的其他著作还涉及了文学、媒介美学、流行文化、社会-政治问题中的视觉形象等多个领域和议题。

 

关于OCAT研究中心年度讲座

OCAT研究中心年度讲座项目作为一个致力促进当代艺术史研究的开放性项目,旨在为探索当代思想境遇、重审当代艺术实践潜在历史的研究提供一个交流与对话的平台,帮助国内思想界和艺术界直接接触到国际前沿的学术动态,并借以建立和深化二者间的交流与沟通。作为OCAT研究中心公共项目的重要组成部分之一,它也将昭示和宣传该学术机构在广泛的人文学科的基础上进行艺术研究的基本理念。

2018年度项目的总主题为艺术理论与视觉文化研究,因此年度讲座邀请了芝加哥大学的W.J.T.米切尔教授为主讲人,以“元图像:图像及理论话语”为主题,于 9 月6日至8日在芝加哥大学北京中心举行三场讲座。围绕这一主题,OCAT 研究中心陆续主办了题为“语词与图像”“媒介·技术·记忆”两场研讨班,我们邀请了国内在艺术理论、视觉媒介、传统书画、英语文学等研究领域的学者进行了讲演。由 OCAT 研究中心主办,米切尔教授担任策展人的年度展览“元图像”亦将于 9月9日开幕。




姓名

立即订阅